Appointments Committee

State Bar of Arizona

June 3, 2024 4:00 p.m. – 5:00 p.m. ZOOM

Open Session Minutes

MEMBER ATTENDANCE:

V = present virtually; A = absent.

Sam Saks, Chair	V	Toysha Martin	V
Caroline Allen	V	Kim Miles	A
Casey Arellano	V	Judy O'Neill	V
Noah Coakley	V	Tim Sparling	V
Stephanie Ehrbright	V	Georgia Staton	V
Alexis Firehawk	V	Lonnie Williams	V
Joey Hamby	V	Chloe Woods	Α
Kathryn Krejci	V		

OTHER ATTENDEES:

Guests: None

State Bar Staff: Carrie Sherman

Minutes taken by: Carrie Sherman

I. CALL TO ORDER

Called to Order by: Sam Saks, Chair

Time: 4:00 p.m.

II. Call to the Public

There was no response to the Call to the Public.

III. Minutes

A motion was made, seconded and carried unanimously to approve the minutes of the November 16, 2023, Committee meeting.

IV. ABA House of Delegates

The Committee screened three new and two previous applications. The due diligence reports had previously been shared. Each Committee member voted for their top 2 candidates. After discussion a motion was made and seconded to submit only two candidates to the Board of Governors for consideration. That motion failed.

After further discussion, a motion was made, seconded and carried unanimously to recommend the three top vote getters to the Board of Governors for its consideration in making two ABA Delegate appointments:

Ms. Melissa Ho, Microchip Technology Inc. 12 votes Mr. Ernest Calderón, Calderón Law Offices (incumbent) 11 votes Mr. George Chen, Bryan Cave Leighton Paisner LLP (incumbent) 2 votes

V. Board of Legal Specialization

The Committee screened seven lawyer applications and two public member applications. The due diligence reports had previously been shared. After discussion, each Committee member then cast up to three votes for their top candidates. A motion was made, seconded and carried unanimously to recommend the following ranked slate for the Board's consideration in making its nominations to the Supreme Court for its consideration and ultimate appointment:

Certified Specialist (four positions)

Mr. Jeffrey M. Neff, Udall Law Firm LLP (incumbent)	10 votes
Mr. Eric C. Awerkamp, Awerkamp Law	8 votes
Ms. Phoebe Moffatt, Sacks Tierney PA (incumbent)	3 votes
Mr. Omer Ramiro Gurion, Gurion Legal	1 vote

2024-2026 BLS Chair

Pursuant to the recommendation of the Board of Legal Specialization, the Committee supported the nomination of incumbent **Jeffrey Neff** to serve as the 2024-2026 chair of the BLS. The Board of Governors would also make a recommendation to the Arizona Supreme Court regarding the appointment of the BLS chair.

Non-Specialist (two positions)

For the purpose of ranking the candidates, each Committee member cast two votes for their top candidates. The following slate will be submitted for the Governors' consideration in making its nominations to the Supreme Court to fill two positions:

Ms. Jennifer Mary Settles, Law Office of Jennifer M. Settles

Ms. Kristin Gentile White, Law Office of Kristin Gentile White PC

Ms. Denae Kalli Suchy, Maricopa County Public Defender's Office

4 votes

Public Members (four positions)

The due diligence report had previously been shared on Aaron Howard. The Committee then screened the application of Dr. Brownlee. A motion was made, seconded and carried unanimously to submit both candidates as ranked for the Governors' consideration to fill two of the four public member seats:

Mr. Aaron Howard, Howard Wealth Advisors

Ranked #1

Dr. Lewis Amanda Brownlee, MCCCD/Professor

The Committee will continue its efforts to recruit public members to fill the remaining seats.

ABA-Accredited Law School Representative (one position)

The Appointments Committee did not receive any applications for this position but will continue to recruit with the assistance of the law school deans.

VI. City of Peoria Judicial and Public Defender Board

The Committee screened the four applications received. The due diligence reports had previously been shared. Each Committee member voted for their top two candidates. The Committee will recommend the following slate to the Board of Governors for its consideration in providing nominations to the Peoria City Council for two JPDAB positions:

Ms. Denae Kalli Suchy, Maricopa County Public Defender's Office 11 votes
Mr. Blake Moscatello, Moscatello Group, PLLC 10 votes
Ms. Kristin Gentile White, Law Office of Kristin Gentile White PC 2 votes

The remaining candidate did not receive a vote from the Committee.

VII. City of Tempe Judicial Advisory Board

The Committee screened the eight applications that had been received. The due diligence reports had previously been shared. Each Committee member then cast three votes for their top three candidates. The Committee will recommend the following ranked slate to the Governors for their consideration in providing three nominations to the Tempe City Council for two Judicial Advisory Board positions:

Ms. Amanda S. Chua, Attorney at Law (incumbent)	9 votes
Hon. (ret.) James J. Sampanes, City of Phoenix Law Department,	
City Prosecutor's Office	
Mr. Scott M. Blum, Maricopa County Attorney	4 votes
Ms. Molly Patricia Brizgys, Mitchell Stein Carey Chapman, PC	
Ms. Jennifer Mary Settles, Law Office of Jennifer M. Settles	
Ms. JoAnn Falgout, Guidant Law Firm	
Mr. Ross Lee Ian Kader, Maricopa County Public Defender's Office	

A motion was made, seconded and carried unanimously to remove from the slate the remaining candidate who did not receive votes from the Committee but who had already been recommended to serve on the Board of Legal Specialization.

VIII. Client Protection Fund Board of Trustees

The Committee screened the two applications. The diligence reports were previously shared. Each Committee member voted for their top candidate. The Committee recommends the reappointment of incumbent Gregg Woodnick to a second but final five-year term.

Mr. Gregg R. Woodnick, Woodnick Law PLLC (incumbent) 10 votes Mr. Blake Moscatello, Moscatello Group, PLLC 2 votes

IX. **Adjournment:** 5:10 p.m.