

BOARD OF LEGAL SPECIALIZATION

State Bar of Arizona 4201 N. 24th Street, Suite 100 Phoenix, Arizona 85016

March 11, 2020 4:00 p.m. Yucca Room, First Floor

MINUTES Approved May 13, 2020

MEMBER ATTENDANCE:

P = Present; T = Present Telephonically; A = Absent

Bradley Jardine - P M. Maureen Anders - T James Anderson - T Troy Bales - A James Cross - T Robert Denison - T Monica Donaldson Stewart - T Michael Goldberg - A Abe Lai - A Bridget O'Brien Swartz - A Elizabeth Ortiz - T David Shein - T Wendi Sorensen - P

OTHER ATTENDEES:

State Bar Staff: Sarah Corpening, Connie Hay

Minutes taken by: Connie Hay

1. Call to Order

Meeting was called to order by: Bradley Jardine **4:00 p.m.**

2. Call to the Public

No public attendees were present.

3. Review and Approval of minutes:

The minutes of the February 12, 2020 General Session meeting were reviewed.

Motion for approval by: Robert Denison

Second by: Wendi Sorensen

Chair call for Vote: Unanimous; Motion Passes

The minutes of the February 12, 2020 Executive Session meeting were reviewed.

Motion for approval of the Executive Session minutes by: Wendi Sorensen

Second by: David Shein

Chair call for Vote: Unanimous; Motion Passes

4. Member Terms

a) Members. Connie Hay reported. Based on the term limits that went in to affect in 2018, five members will not be eligible to apply for another term: Two specialists, two attorney non-specialists, and one public member. Connie asked for questions or discussion. Maureen Anders asked how the open positions are advertised. Connie and Sarah Corpening listed some channels at the State Bar including through the website, Sections' On-line Communities, Arizona Attorney magazine, and the eLegal newsletter. Maureen notes these are directed to legal professionals and suggests other methods may be needed for the Public Member opening. Discussion ensued about how current Public Members were found. Sarah suggests Connie contact Carrie Sherman at the State Bar to find out how she plans to advertise the openings.

Action item: Connie will follow up with Carrie Sherman.

Action item: Connie will email the on-line application link when the application period opens next week.

Action item: Board members will forward the application to anyone they know or send names to Connie.

b) Chair. Sarah Corpening reported. Brad has served us well for 12 years, and states with heavy heart that he is no longer eligible to serve due to term limits. For anyone interested in serving as Chair, an application will need to be submitted using the Volunteer Application form.

5. Executive Session

Motion to move into Executive Session by: Wendi Sorensen

Second by: Robert Denison

Chair call for Vote: Unanimous: Motion Passes

Convene into Executive Session 4:12 p.m.

Motion to move into General Session by: Wendi Sorensen

Second by: James Cross

Chair call for Vote: Unanimous; Motion Passes

Reconvene into General Session 4:16 p.m.

6. Specialization Recertification Applications

- a) Criminal Law Advisory Commission recommended for recertification:
 - 1. O. Joseph Chornenky
 - 2. Daisy Jo Flores
 - 3. Craig Gillespie

Chair call for Discussion: None

Recusals: None

Motion to accept all recommendations of Criminal Law Advisory

Commission by: Wendi Sorensen Second by: Maureen Anders

Chair call for Vote: Unanimous to accept all recommendations; Motion passes

b) Estate & Trust Advisory Commission

- 1. Marlene Appel (R)
- 2. James E. Bache (R)
- 3. Benjamin J. Burnside (R)
- 4. Quinn DeAngelis (R)
- 5. Scott Erickson (R)
- 6. Robert B. Fleming (R)
- 7. J. Noland Franz (R)
- 8. T. James Lee (Terry James Lee) (R)
- 9. Jeanne Vatterott-Gale (R)
- 10. John C. Vryhof (R)

Chair call for Discussion: None

Chair call for Recusals: None

Motion to accept all recommendations of Estate & Trust Advisory Commission

by: Wendi Sorensen

Second by: Maureen Anders

Chair call for Vote: Unanimous to accept all recommendations; Motion passes

c) Personal Injury & Wrongful Death Law Advisory Commission

- 1. John P. Ager
- 2. Bruce M. Squire

Chair call for Discussion: David Shein asks for clarification that these are recertification applicants, not initial applicants, as the (R) is missing next to names.

Chair confirms these applicants are for recertification.

Chair call for Recusals: None

Motion to accept all recommendations of Personal Injury and Wrongful Death Advisory Commission by: Wendi Sorensen

Second by: James Cross

Chair call for Vote: Unanimous to accept all recommendations; Motion passes

d) Real Estate Law Advisory Commission recommended for recertification:

- 1. Justin D. Castillo (R)
- 2. Christopher J. Charles (R)
- 3. Michael T. Denious (R)
- 4. Paul J. Faith (R)
- 5. Thomas E. Halter (R)
- 6. Ted H. Hinderaker (R)
- 7. Douglas Martin (R)
- 8. Joseph J. Moritz, Jr (R)
- 9. James H. Patterson (R)
- 10. David E. Shein (R)
- 11. GinaMarie K. Spencer (R)

Chair call for Discussion: None

Chair call for Recusals: David Shein recuses

Motion to accept all recommendations of Personal Injury and Wrongful Death

Advisory Commission by: Wendi Sorensen

Second by: James Cross

Chair call for Vote: Unanimous to accept all recommendations; Motion passes

e) Workers Compensation Advisory Commission recommended for recertification:

1. Joel F. Friedman

2. Stephen M. Venezia

Chair call for Recusals: None

Motion to accept all recommendations of the Workers' Compensation Law Advisory

Commission by: Wendi Sorensen

Second by: Maureen Anders

Chair call for Vote: Unanimous to accept all recommendations; Motion passes

7. Date of next meeting:

April 8, 2020 – 4 p.m.

8. Meeting adjourned 4:20 p.m.