

BOARD OF LEGAL SPECIALIZATION

State Bar of Arizona 4201 N. 24th Street, Suite 100 Phoenix, Arizona 85016

Wednesday, February 14, 2024 - 4:00 p.m. via **Zoom**

MINUTES

Approved March 13, 2024

MEMBER ATTENDANCE:

P = Present; Z = Present via Zoom; T = Present Telephonically; A = Absent

Wendi Sorensen - Z James Cross - Z James Anderson - Z Cynthia Braun - Z Robert Denison - Z Michael Goldberg - A Kimberly Heldt - Z Phoebe Moffatt - Z Blake Moscatello - A Jeffrey Neff - Z Elizabeth Ortiz - Z

State Bar Staff: Randal Westbury

Minutes taken by: Randal Westbury

1. Call to Order (Quorum Present)

Meeting was called to order by BLS Chair, Wendi Sorensen 4:00 p.m.

2. Call to the Public -

No Public Members Present

3. Approval of minutes

The minutes of the January 10, 2024, General Session meeting were reviewed.

Motion for approval by: Jeff Neff

Second by: Jim Cross

Chair calls for vote: Unanimous, motion passes

The minutes of the January 10, 2024, Executive Session meeting were reviewed.

Motion for approval by: Jeff Neff

Second by: Robert Denison

Chair calls for vote: Unanimous, motion passes

4. Motion to move into Executive Session for purposes of reviewing recommendations for Certifications and Recertifications:

BLS Chair Wendi Sorensen confirmed all meeting materials have been circulated and received by attending members.

Motion made by: Phoebe Moffatt

Second by: Jim Cross

Chair calls for vote: Unanimous, motion passes

Convene into Executive Session 4:01 pm.

Reconvene to General Session 5:05 pm

5. Bankruptcy Law Advisory Commission's Recommendation for Recertification of 2023 Applicants:

- 1. Thomas Alen
- 2. Harold Campbell
- 3. Jody Corrales
- 4. Bradley Pack
- 5. Jimmie Dee Smith

Motion made by: Jim Cross Second by: Phoebe Moffatt Chair calls for recusals: none Chair calls for discussion: none

Chair calls for vote: Unanimous, motion passes

6. Criminal Law Advisory Commission's Recommendation for 2023 applicant to sit for Initial Certification Exam:

1. Bradlee Rideout

Motion made by: Jeff Neff Second by: Phoebe Moffatt Chair calls for recusals: none Chair calls for discussion: none

Chair calls for vote: Unanimous, motion passes

7. Criminal Law Advisory Commission's Recommendation for Recertification of 2023 Applicants:

- 1. Bruce Blumberg
- 2. Trent Buckallew
- 3. Jason Gronski
- 4. Omer Gurion
- 5. Slade Lawson
- 6. Vicki Lopez
- 7. Julie McDonald
- 8. Craig Orent
- 9. Paul Ramos
- 10. John Trebon

Motion made by: Robert Denison

Second by: Jeff Neff

Chair calls for recusals: none Chair calls for discussion: none

Chair call for vote: Unanimous, motion passes

8. Estate and Trust Law Advisory Commission's Recommendation for 2023 Applicants to sit for Initial Certification Exam:

- 1. Melissa Ahlers
- 2. Debra Polly

Motion made by: Jeff Neff

Second by: Jim Cross

Chair calls for recusals: none

Chair calls for discussion: none

Chair call for vote: Unanimous, motion passes

9. Estate and Trust Law Advisory Commission's Recommendation for Recertification of 2023 Applicants:

- 1. Mark Allen
- 2. John Becker
- 3. Joseph Gutterman
- 4. Ronald Larson
- 5. Hope Leibsohn
- 6. Phoebe Moffatt
- 7. Eliza Read
- 8. Kames Ryan
- 9. Susan K Smith
- 10. Alan Wilson

Motion made by: Jim Anderson

Second by: Jeff Neff

Chair calls for recusals: Phoebe Moffatt

Chair calls for discussion: none

Chair call for vote: Unanimous, motion passes

10. Family Law Advisory Commission's Recommendation for Recertification Of 2023 Applicants:

- 1. Laura Belleau
- 2. Barry Brody
- 3. Luke Brown
- 4. Kiilu Davis
- 5. Steven Everts
- 6. Philip Gerard
- 7. Glenn Halterman
- 8. Angela Peacock
- 9. Annie Rolfe
- 10. Susan Schauf
- 11. Robert Schwartz
- 12. Edina Strum
- 13. Steven Wolfson

Motion made by: Phoebe Moffatt

Second by: Jim Cross

Chair calls for recusals: none Chair calls for discussion: none

Chair call for vote: Unanimous, motion passes

11. Personal Injury and Wrongful Death Advisory Commission's Recommendation For Recertification of 2023 Applicants:

- 1. James Abraham
- 2. Peter Akmajian
- 3. Allen Bucknell
- 4. Christian Henrichsen
- 5. David Hill
- 6. Louis Hollingsworth
- 7. Bradley Jardine
- 8. James Penny
- 9. Joel Robbins
- 10. Leighton Rockafellow
- 11. Thomas Ryan
- 12. K Thomas Slack
- 13. Georgia Staton
- 14. Timothy Tonkin

Motion made by: Jeff Neff

Second by: Jim Cross

Chair calls for recusals: none

Chair calls for discussion: none

Chair call for vote: Unanimous, motion passes

12. Real Estate Advisory Commission's Recommendation for Recertification of 2023 Applicants:

- 1. Thomas Arendt
- 2. Fred Fathe
- 3. Kathleen Fox
- 4. Jeffrey Gross
- 5. Mark Lasee
- 6. Philippe Martinet
- 7. Jeffrey Neff
- 8. James Whitehill
- 9. David Wilhelmsen

Motion made by: Jim Anderson

Second by: Jim Cross

Chair calls for recusals: Jeff Neff Chair calls for discussion: none

Chair call for vote: Unanimous, motion passes

13. Tax Law Advisory Commission's Recommendation for 2023 Applicants to sit for Initial Certification Exam:

- 1. Trisha Farrow
- 2. Lucas Frei

Motion made by: Jeff Neff

Second by: Jim Cross

Chair calls for recusals: none Chair calls for discussion: none

Chair call for vote: Unanimous, motion passes

14. Tax Law Advisory Commission's Recommendation for Recertification of 2023 Applicants:

- 1. Thomas Bade
- 2. John Becker
- 3. Steven Boss
- 4. Max Boyer
- 5. Thomas Georgiou
- 6. James Hienton
- 7. David Jojola
- 8. Derek Kaczmarek
- 9. Brandon Keim
- 10. Donald MacPherson
- 11. Bradley Nystedt
- 12. James Rossie Jr.
- 13. Susan K Smith
- 14. James Susa

Motion made by: Jim Cross

Second by: Jeff Neff

Chair calls for recusals: Phoebe Moffatt

Chair calls for discussion: none

Chair call for vote: Unanimous, motion passes

15. Worker's Compensation Advisory Commission's Recommendation for Recertification of 2023 Applicants:

- 1. Kirk Barberich
- 2. M Ted Moeller
- 3. Chiko Oyolu

Motion made by: Jim Cross

Second by: Jeff Neff

Chair calls for recusals: none

Chair calls for discussion: none

Chair call for vote: Unanimous, motion passes

- 16. Date of next meeting: March 13, 2024
- **17.** Adjourn 5:27 pm