

#### BOARD OF LEGAL SPECIALIZATION

State Bar of Arizona 4201 N. 24<sup>th</sup> Street, Suite 100 Phoenix, Arizona 85016

February 12, 2020 4:00 p.m. Yucca Room, First Floor

# MINUTES (Approved March 11, 2020)

#### **MEMBER ATTENDANCE:**

P = Present; T = Present Telephonically; A = Absent

Bradley Jardine - P M. Maureen Anders - A James Anderson - T Troy Bales - A James Cross - T Robert Denison - T Monica Donaldson Stewart - A Michael Goldberg - T Abe Lai - A Bridget O'Brien Swartz - T Elizabeth Ortiz - T David Shein - T Wendi Sorensen - T

#### **OTHER ATTENDEES:**

State Bar Staff: Sarah Corpening, Connie Hay

Minutes taken by: Connie Hay

#### 1. Call to Order

Meeting was called to order by: Bradley Jardine **4:05 p.m.** 

#### 2. Call to the Public

No public attendees were present.

#### 3. Review and Approval of minutes:

The minutes of the January 8, 2020 General Session meeting were reviewed.

Motion for approval by: Jim Cross

Second by: Wendi Sorensen

Unanimous Motion: Passed

The minutes of the January 8, 2020 Executive Session meeting were reviewed. The date shown is incorrectly stated as April 10, 2019.

Motion for approval of the Executive Session minutes with date corrected to

January 8, 2020, by: Wendi Sorensen

Second by: Jim Anderson

Unanimous Motion: Passes

BLS Minutes 2-12-2020 1 of 4

## 4. Action by Board of Governors – January 24, 2020

- a) Administrative Law. Mike Goldberg reported. Mike Goldberg represented the BLS and Jessica Thomas represented the Administrative Law Section to answer questions about this new area of specialization. The Board of Governors approved the Standards for Certification of Administrative Law and voted to approve. The recommendation will be submitted to the Court for final approval.
- b) BLS Rules & Regulations. Jim Cross reported. Maureen Anders and Jim Cross represented the BLS and Sarah Corpening represented the State Bar. The recommendation for reinstating peer review confidentiality was presented. Vigorous discussion resulted in a 10 10 vote. The Board of Governors President cast the tie-breaking vote in favor of amending the BLS Rules & Regulations to return to confidentiality in the peer review process. The revised Rules & Regulations will be submitted to the Court for final approval.
- 5. NBTA Accreditation Renewal. Bradley Jardine reported. State Bar of Arizona previously accredited the National Board of Trial Advocacy (NBTA) to certify attorneys in Criminal, Civil, and Family Law. NBTA has submitted a reaccreditation package to extend their accreditation through April 15, 2025.

Chair call for comments: None

Motion to recommend reaccreditation of NBTA by: Jim Cross

Second by: Wendi Sorensen

Chair call for Vote: Unanimous to recommend NBTA for reaccreditation

Motion passes

Action Item: The recommendation will be submitted to the Board of Governors for approval.

#### 6. Executive Session

Motion to move into Executive Session by: Bob Denison

Second by: Jim Cross

Unanimous Motion: Passed

Convene into Executive Session 4:11 p.m.

Reconvene into General Session 4:16 p.m.

Motion to approve the following for recertification:

## Bankruptcy Law Advisory Commission recommended for recertification:

- 1. John J. Fries
- 2. James F. Kahn

Chair call for Recusals: None

Motion to accept all recommendations of Bankruptcy Law Advisory

Commission by: Jim Cross

Second by: Jim Anderson

Chair call for Vote: Unanimous to accept all recommendations

Motion passes

BLS Minutes 2-12-2020 **2** of **4** 

## Family Law Advisory Commission recommended for recertification:

- 1. Barry C. Dickerson (R)
- 2. Aris J. Gallios (R)
- 3. Thomas J. Griggs (R)
- 4. Ann M. Haralambie (R)

Chair call for Recusals: James Cross recused on vote for Aris. J. Gallios

Motion to accept all recommendations of Family Law Advisory Commission

by: Wendi Sorensen

Second by: Bridget O'Brien Swartz

Chair call for Vote: Unanimous to accept all recommendations

Motion passes

## Personal Injury & Wrongful Death Law recommended for recertification:

- 1. David J. Catanese (R)
- 2. Larry J. Cohen (R)
- 3. Bruce D. Crawford
- 4. Evan S. Goldstein (R)
- 5. Stephanie Ireland (R)
- 6. Mack T. Jones (R)
- 7. Barry A. MacBan (R)
- 8. Martin H. Mathers (R)
- 9. Mark Stephen O'Connor (R)
- 10.Frank I. Powers (R)
- 11. Thomas J. Shorall, Jr. (R)
- 12. J. Tyrrell Taber (R)
- 13. Geoffrey M. Trachtenberg (R)
- 14. Frank Verderame (R)
- 15. Christopher J. Zachar (R)

Chair call for Recusals: None

Motion to accept all recommendations of Personal Injury and Wrongful Death Advisory

Commission

by: Bridget O'Brien Swartz

Second by: Dave Shein

Chair call for Vote: Unanimous to accept all recommendations

Motion passes

## Tax Law Advisory Commission recommended for recertification:

- 1. Jeffrey B. Fugal
- 2. James G. Knollmiller
- 3. Bahar Schippel
- 4. J. Michael Traher, Sr.
- 5. John C. Vryhof

## Worker's Compensation Law Advisory Commission:

- 1. J. Stephen Dix
- 2. Mark A. Kendall
- 3. Patrick R. McNamara
- 4. Deborah E. Mittelman

BLS Minutes 2-12-2020 3 of 4

1

## 5. Adam P. Palmer

## 6. Pamela A. Treadwell-Rubin

Chair call for Recusals: None

Motion to accept all recommendations of the Tax Law and Workers' Compensation Law Advisory Commissions by: Wendi Sorensen

Second by: Jim Cross

Chair call for Vote: Unanimous to accept all recommendations

Motion passes

## 7. Date of next meeting:

March 11, 2020 - 4PM

# 8. Meeting adjourned 4:20 p.m.

BLS Minutes 2-12-2020 4 of 4