2024 State Bar Annual Awards - Nominations EXTENDED to Monday, April 8, 2024

The State Bar of Arizona is soliciting nominations for awards to be given at the annual convention. Nominate a deserving colleague or organization. Let's celebrate their achievements and contributions to Arizona's legal profession and the community! Find a nomination form here.

2023 State Bar Annual Award Winners - click on each award to the left to read about the 2023 winner

Award Descriptions and Candidate Criteria

Award of Appreciation: Presented to that individual(s) who is not a member of the Bar in recognition of outstanding service toward the creation of a better public understanding of the legal profession and the administration of justice, the judiciary or the legislative process. (Award established in 1989)

Award of Special Merit: Presented to that member or members of the State Bar of Arizona who have made significant contributions to the furtherance of public understanding of the legal system, the administration of justice and confidence in the legal profession. (Award established in 1988)

Diversity and Inclusion Leadership Award: Recognizing an attorney, judge, employer, organization or bar association that significantly advances diversity and inclusion in the Arizona legal community through creative, strategic, or innovative efforts. (Created October 2015)

Hon. John R. Sticht Disability Achievement Award: Recognizing either a person(s) in the legal profession or a group, organization or employer, who or which furthers the goals of access to justice and the full participation for people with disabilities in the legal profession and justice system or a person(s) with disability who has demonstrated exceptional depth of inner strength, courage in the face of adversity and tenacity of purpose. (Award established 5/29/06; amended language 10/23/15)

James A. Walsh Outstanding Jurist Award: Recognizing that judge whose career exemplifies the highest standards of judicial conduct for integrity and independence; who is knowledgeable of the law and faithful to it; who is un-swayed by partisan interests, public clamor or fear of criticism; who is patient, dignified and courteous to all who appear before that judge; and who endeavors to improve the administration of justice and public understanding of, and respect for, the role of law in our society. (Award established in 1989)

Mark I. Harrison Excellence in Mentorship Award: Awarded to a legal professional who has devoted extraordinary energy and sustained attention to mentoring others in the legal community, who has avidly promoted the development and careers of individuals from diverse and historically underrepresented groups in the legal profession, and who has inspired and fostered engagement of others in activities that reflect the highest ethics and ideals of the legal profession, such as significant pro bono, public and community service. (Created 12/10/21)

Member of the Year Award: Presented to that attorney(s) who has rendered extraordinary contributions to the programs and activities of the State Bar in the prior year. Hundreds, even thousands, of the Bar's members contribute their time and talent to the work of the Bar, but this award is limited to that individual(s) whose contributions are exceptional. (Award established in 1991)

Michael C. Cudahy Criminal Justice Award: Recognizing that criminal law prosecutor who has worked tirelessly to advance the principles of criminal justice by representing the public’s interest with integrity, fairness, tenacity, creativity, brilliance and, above all, professionalism. (Award established 3/17/06)

Outstanding In-House Counsel of the Year Award: Recognizing an Arizona in-house counsel that has made outstanding contributions to the in-house counsel practice and the community at large. The recipient of this award is a respected strategic and innovative leader who exemplifies the following traits: sound and trusted judgment, excellent legal and business acumen, vision, leadership, integrity and ethics. (Created October 2015)

Sharon A. Fullmer Legal Aid Attorney of the Year Award: Recognizing that legal services lawyer in Arizona whose service to low-income people encompasses both aggressive advocacy on behalf of individuals in extreme need as well as impact advocacy designed to address systemic issues affecting significant numbers of low-income people. (Award established in 1997)

Tom Karas Criminal Justice Award: Recognizing that criminal defense practitioner who has worked tirelessly to advance the principles of criminal justice by representing clients or the public with integrity, fairness, tenacity, creativity, brilliance and, above all, professionalism. (Award established 2004; amended language 3/17/06)

President's Award: Awarded, at the discretion of the president, to that attorney(s) who has contributed enormous effort towards the furtherance of the president's goals and priorities during his or her year as president. (Award established in 1996)

This page is managed by Carrie Sherman