Award of Appreciation

Established in April 1988, the Award of Appreciation is presented by the Board of Governors to that individual(s) who is not a member of the Bar in recognition of outstanding service toward the creation of a better public understanding of the legal profession and the administration of justice, the judiciary or the legislative process.

2023 Recipient

Susan Trentham, Ph.D. serves as the Executive Director of the Pima County Bar Association (PCBA) and the Pima County Bar Foundation (PCBF). Since joining PCBA in 2006, she has been instrumental in new developments, including the yearly Law Day Legal Clinic and the annual Skyline Affair Fundraiser, and in enhancements across areas, such as PCBA’s Lawyer Referral Service, Modest Means program, PCBA’s and PCBF’s websites, and PCBA’s newsletter, The Writ. She was also a key co-founder of the Foundation in 2016. At events, she is often seen taking photos for The Writ.

Before joining PCBA, Dr. Trentham served as the Continuum of Care Consultant for the Tucson Pima Collaboration to End Homelessness and prepared their 2006 $10+ million HUD grant, funding 20 local homeless services and providers. Her prior career background includes working for nonprofits, such as the Crisis Call Center in Reno, Nevada, and in academia; serving in administrative roles and as an instructor of college-level courses.

Originally from Huntsville, Alabama, she has also resided elsewhere, including Kwajalein in the Marshall Islands (giving her the life-long status of “Kwaj Kid.”) She received her doctorate in social psychology from the Interdisciplinary Social Psychology program at the University of Nevada, Reno.

Previous Recipients

1989     Hon. Rose Mofford
Hon. Barry Goldwater
1990 Sal Quijada
Paul Urbano King
1991 Prof. Paul Bender
Amelia D. Lewis
1992 Hon. Tom Tso
1993 Ken Campbell
1994 Patricia J. Horgan
Karen E. Osborn
Ronald S. Watson
1995 Bruce Hernandez
1996 Paul Rubin
1997 Karen Duffy
Art Rotstein
Joan Tobin
1998 Regina Skouson
1999 Dr. Janet Brown
2000 Maria Hoffman
2001 Helen Cahill
2002 Bill Scott
2003 Donald W. Carson
Myles V. Lynk
2004 Carrie L. Sherman
2005 Emily R. Johnston
2006 Dr. Pearl Tang
2007 Matthew Silverman
2008 Larry C. McVey
Marvin E. Perry
2009 Bennie C. Click
2010 Susan Armstrong
2011 David K. Byers
2012 Alex Jamison
Karen Osborne
2013 William D. Carnegie
2014 John J. Sullivan
2016 Christine C. Iijima Hall
2017 Meredith Peabody
2018 Judith Register
2019 Coconino County Board of Supervisors
2020 Rick DeBruhl
2021 Christine Groninger
2022 Raising Special Kids
2023 Susan Trentham, Ph.D.


This page is managed by Carrie Sherman