Outstanding In-House Counsel of the Year Award

Recognizing an Arizona in-house counsel that has made outstanding contributions to the in-house counsel practice and the community at large. The recipient of this award is a respected strategic and innovative leader who exemplifies the following traits: sound and trusted judgment, excellent legal and business acumen, vision, leadership, integrity and ethics. (Created October 2015)

2022 Recipient

Mona Stone brings 25 years of wide-ranging experience as an attorney and compliance specialist to her role as SVP, General Counsel, Chief Compliance Officer, and Corporate Secretary at Goodwill. Mona is a strategic and pragmatic professional who leverages her vast experience and business acumen to analyze challenges, lead teams, and exceed objectives.

Mona has served on several boards, including the Arizona Association of Corporate Counsel, ATHENA International, and the Institute for Inclusion in the Legal Profession. She graduated from Bradley University in 1994, earned her J.D. from Tulane University School of Law in 1997, and obtained her miniMBA from the Boston University Questrom School of Business.

Based on her professional accomplishments and civic leadership, Mona was peer-nominated as one of 2008’s “Top 40 Illinois Attorneys Under 40 To Watch” by the Chicago Daily Law Bulletin. She was elected the first Indian American Equity Partner at Locke Lord in 2009, and received recognition as a Team Member, Law360 “Employment Practice Group of the Year” in 2011 at Greenberg Traurig. She earned the inaugural GT “Career Development Liaison of the Year” award in 2014, and was named a Top 25 Arizona Women attorneys by 2016 Southwest Super Lawyers. Mona earned the Torchbearer In-House Counsel Pro Bono Commission award in 2017, and was a finalist for the Arizona In-House Counsel Award (Non-Profit Sector) in 2017, 2018 and 2019. Among her many honors, she has been recognized as: “ATHENA Woman Leader Award,” 2021 Finalist, ATHENA International; “Most Influential Woman in Arizona Business”, 2021 Honoree, AZ Big Media; “Outstanding Woman in Business”, 2021 Honoree, Phoenix Business Journal; and “Goodwill for a Younger Generation”, 2021 Feature Article, Vanguard Law Magazine.

Previous Recipients

The award has been presented to:

2016 Nima Jacobs Kelly
2017 Michael J. O'Connor
2018 Patrick J. Duffy
2019 Nona M. Lee
2020 Lisa Bossard Funk
Michael J. Minnaugh, III
2021 Mark Rogers
2022 Mona Stone
This page is managed by Carrie Sherman