Sharon A. Fullmer Legal Aid Attorney of the Year Award

Recognizing that legal services lawyer in Arizona whose service to low-income people encompasses both aggressive advocacy on behalf of individuals in extreme need as well as impact advocacy designed to address systemic issues affecting significant numbers of low-income people. (Award established in 1997)

2021 Recipient

The bulk of Jamie Balson’s career has focused on working on behalf of crime victims to promote greater access to justice within the legal system, first as a social worker and now as an attorney, with her primary focus on issues related to domestic violence, sexual violence and crime victims' rights. In an effort to better understand the experiences of crime victims in the courts, Jamie sought out opportunities to expand her training and experience in several key areas. After graduating law school, Jamie worked as a civil attorney representing the surviving families of domestic violence homicide in bringing civil lawsuits directly against the killer. In 2013, working as an adjunct professor, Jamie developed and taught the inaugural semester of both the Domestic Violence Protection Order Clinic and the Family Law Clinic which both focused on legal issues arising from domestic violence. Following this, Jamie was recruited as a prosecutor with the Maricopa County Attorney’s Office in the Family Violence Bureau, which focused on domestic violence cases. Currently, Jamie works exclusively as crime victims’ rights attorney to advance and protect crime victims’ rights at the nonprofit she founded, Legal Services for Crime Victims in Arizona (LSCVA).

Previous Recipients

The award has been presented to:

1997     Sharon A. Fullmer (posthumously)
1998 Lois T. Kermott (posthumously)
1999 William E. Morris
2000 Dolores H. Milkie
2001 Thomas J. Berning
Edwad E. Coghlan
2002 Sylvia J. Struss
2003 Veronika Fabian
Denise I. Young
2004 Lydia A. Glasson
2005 George H. McKay
2006 Patricia J. Gerrich
2007 Anthony L. Young
2008 Valerie C. Hink
2009 Rachel Wilson
2010 Prof. Andrew Silverman
2011 Pamela M. Bridge
2012 Mary V. Day
2013 Beverly B. Parker
2014 Ellen Sue Katz
2015 Laura Belous
2016 Stanley Silas
2017 Golden E. McCarthy
2018 Anne M. Ryan
2019 Deonissa Cañez-Anderson
2020 January F. E. Contreras
Florence Immigrant & Refugee Rights Project 
2021 Jamie Balson
This page is managed by Carrie Sherman